Spiritual Growth

The Journey of Seeking Him.

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” 
Jeremiah 29:13
“But from there you will seek the LORD your God, and you will find Him if you search for Him with all your heart and all your soul.”
Deuteronomy 4:29
“Now set your heart and your soul to seek the LORD your God; arise,…”
1 Chronicles 22:19

“The more I seek You, the more I find You. The more I find You, the more I love You.” These were a few lyrics to a sweet song that a friend of mine and myself sang in church. What a beautiful truth! God promises us that when we seek Him with all of our heart, wholeheartedly, we will find Him.  It’s a sure thing, it’s a promise, and we can believe it!

Jesus is so good to us. It amazes me that He wants to give us every bit of His joy, blessing, and fullness of life. Have you experienced even a taste of that? I know that when I see Jesus in people, I want to know how they got that! When I see His people working together for His glory, I want to be apart of that! When Jesus is evident in something, I don’t want to miss out. Have you been there? Have you craved more of Him?

It seems that everything in my life lately has been a theme of finding my ALL in Jesus alone.  All or nothing. My satisfaction is in Him alone. In Him is found perfect peace. In Him in FULLNESS of joy.

“Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.”
Psalm 90:14
“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in You.”
Isaiah 26:3
“You will make known to me thepath of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.”
Psalm 16:11
When I look for these things {apart} from the Source, I end up frustrated, confused, and down.
“If you find yourself loving any pleasure better than your prayers, any book better than the Bible, any persons better than Christ, or any indulgence better than the hope of heaven—take alarm.”
– Thomas Guthrie
“Hungry I come to you for I know you satisfy.”
-Joy Williams, “Hungry”
Where do you go when your physically hungry? Subway! Or the fridge. Spiritually, I’ve been asking the Lord to remind me everyday that I NEED Him! More than I think I do.  More than my physical food. He’s the giver of every breath that I breathe.  Stop and think about that for a moment. Every breath.  You don’t even realize that you are breathing until you stop and think about it or until you can’t breathe. (Or when someone has really bad breath and you hold yours..)
Jesus is our source of life and making Him the source of our lives requires humility, desperation, and a seeking. Are you seeking Him?  One of my favorite passages in Scripture   says,
 
“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”
John 15:5
“For He has satisfied the thirsty soul, And the hungry soul He has filled with what is good.”
Psalm 107:9

Christ, who is your life… Colossians says it clearly. (Colossians 3:4)
“If Christ is your life, you are free from the desperate quest to find life in situations, locations, and relationships.”
-Paul David Tripp

No more searching for purpose, meaning, or identity.  Jesus has given you ALL of that and more! What a joy, blessing, and privilege it is to {seek Him together}.

Leave a Reply

